Back to basics ?

Richard S

I am a complete novice, having only been shooting for about eighteen months, and have always used home made quad sticks. They provide amazingly steady support, but I am beginning to wonder if I am missing the point, if not the target.

On open ground there is no problem, but in woodland or near hedgerows, especially when moving the sticks to swing the rifle, I often find the legs getting tangled in brambles etc which is annoying and can make for missed opportunities. Apart from the tracking issue, I imagine the same would be true of twin sticks.

I have just been trying a single stick (not on live targets), and though my accuracy is nowhere near that achieved with quads, I get the impression that with a lot of practice I may be able to gain enough skill to hit the necessary target area on a deer. The benefit in being able to instantly place the stick and change from standing to sitting or kneeling shots would be fantastic, and I would be able to reduce the complication in my stalking equipment, and maybe even become a better shot.

I know a lot of time and effort has gone into the design and development of twin, triple and quad sticks and they have some huge advantages, so what do you think ? Am I planning a retrograde step, or does simplicity have a future ?

Richard

Last two shots I took were using the quad sticks as a single by just not opening them!

No way I could have done and the distance didn't require it

you can practice releasing the shot as your cross hair passes over the target rather than fighting to hold a steady bead with a single stick

Some will see it as a backwards step but not me :D as you have found progress is not always as good as it's cracked up to be so looking at ways that this has been done before is a good way to go and as you have found out not always as bad as often is suggested.