Hello, I'm new to the site from Wiltshire.

Gunpilot

Hi I'm new to the sight and live in Wiltshire. I have recently competed DSC level 1 and am now looking for a kind soul to take me under their wing in the Hampshire and Wiltshire area to show me the ropes, but being military and not knowing a lot of local land owners am finding it a little difficult to get my feet under the table. I have been shooting and hunting for years, but Deer are new to me. I have a 17hmr & shotgun which I use for rabbits and am just about to put a variation in for a .308 for deer. Am looking forward to good advice from like minded people.

Hi Welcome to the site. I am ex-Military and have had quite a bit of experience with the MOD stalking scheme, known as DDM - Defence Deer Management.
As most of Wiltshire, or a lot of it anyway, is MOD land I suggest you get in touch with your local DDM rep.
There are a few members of DDM on here so they may PM you and offer advice too.
DDM has one of the most intensive hands on training programmes regarding Deer in existance today.
If you have land enough to acquire a .308 already I am sure there will be plenty of offers of assistance from experienced stalkers in this area.
Stalking is a wonderful experience even if you don't find the right animal to enable you to carry it through to the cull, it is still enjoyable being out and seeing them.
Even if you don't even see an animal, if there are Deer present, the sign will be there to identify their presence.
good luck and I hope you get to stalk soon.

Last edited: