Jobs on Islay

Geordie_3

Hi all
I'm after a bit of information on the job market on Islay. I'm due out of the RAF in about a years time and the wife has fallen for a house on Islay. I'm an aircraft avionics tech, and by the time I'll be out I'll be a qulified domestic electrician. I can turn my hand to almost anything, I just want to know if I'll be able to get a job if we did move up there.

Any ideas or advice would help.

Regards
Craig

Maybe think about getting onto the Oil Rigs out of Aberdeen, quite a few of the guys live out on the western isles. One of my Collegues is ex RAF avionics. Generally 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off in the UK.

Hi all
I'm after a bit of information on the job market on Islay. I'm due out of the RAF in about a years time and the wife has fallen for a house on Islay. I'm an aircraft avionics tech, and by the time I'll be out I'll be a qulified domestic electrician. I can turn my hand to almost anything, I just want to know if I'll be able to get a job if we did move up there.

Any ideas or advice would help.

Regards
Craig

No you'll not get a job on . The locals can't get jobs there or housing ,most islanders can and do turn there hand to anything, it's only the incomers that can't ,you'll find the only thing the incomers are good at is pushing the price of housing through the roof, and only living in there property for a fortnight a year .

Get a job as a spark learn about domestic electrical work in civvies street .

Throughly helpful for a chap on the look out for a new future. 'Incomers' pushing up property prices isn't experienced in Islay alone.;)

No you'll not get a job on . The locals can't get jobs there or housing ,most islanders can and do turn there hand to anything, it's only the incomers that can't ,you'll find the only thing the incomers are good at is pushing the price of housing through the roof, and only living in there property for a fortnight a year .