Load data for IMR4350 and 30cal 150grain SST

nun_hunter

Evening all,

I'm new to reloading and as such settled on IMR4350 as it was one of the powders in my Lyman manual that I had data for the different bullets and calibres I'm reloading for. I figured one powder to start with would be easier/safer. However I've gotten hold of a box of 150 grain SST bullets for my 308Win but there is no data for this combo of powder and bullet. I've checked all the obvious places and no joy so can anyone help?

if no luck I guess I'll just have to use up what I've got and then experiment with different powders in the future.

Evening all,

I'm new to reloading and as such settled on IMR4350 as it was one of the powders in my Lyman manual that I had data for the different bullets and calibres I'm reloading for. I figured one powder to start with would be easier/safer. However I've gotten hold of a box of 150 grain SST bullets for my 308Win but there is no data for this combo of powder and bullet. I've checked all the obvious places and no joy so can anyone help?

if no luck I guess I'll just have to use up what I've got and then experiment with different powders in the future.

That's because it's pretty slow for that application. If you look at the 7-08 data for a 150 grain bullet you find that it tops out at 46 grains, beginning at 44.1 in the Hodgdon data. The top load is compressed. I'm guessing that in a 308, a load that meters close to the base of the neck would be where I'd start using the same weight bullet.~Muir

That's because it's pretty slow for that application. If you look at the 7-08 data for a 150 grain bullet you find that it tops out at 46 grains, beginning at 44.1 in the Hodgdon data. The top load is compressed. I'm guessing that in a 308, a load that meters close to the base of the neck would be where I'd start using the same weight bullet.~Muir