Factory loads for .270 and 7mm08

Pine Marten

Hello everyone.

I’m just starting out on my stalking career, and I don’t know where to go for lists of available factory loads. For shotgun cartridges, a website like justcartridges.co.uk provides me with a list of just about every commercially available shotgun cartridge in the UK, together with details of their loads, ballistics, etc. Where can I go for something similar for rifle ammunition?

I’m playing Fantasy League Rifle Purchase at the moment, but I also need to research this stuff as I will at some point this year be applying for an FAC. I’d like to go for a .270 as most of my stalking is likely to be for roe and muntjack, but I’m also likely to go boar shooting with my brother in law in France on occasion. The .243 is inadequate for this, and any current or ex-military calibre is illegal for hunting in France, so no .30-06, 6.5x55 Swedish etc. As I understand it, the .270 is available in so many loads that I should be able to use quite light ones for most of my stalking here, and upgrade when/if I shoot boar. It’s been suggested to me that the 7mm08 would suit my needs too, but there isn’t the variety of factory ammunition.

Can anyone help (I’m sure you can)?

I use Norma ammunition through my 270 and 243, They have a good website with all their range of ammo which is quite useful
Crumpy

Some will argue that 270 is too big for roe and munty. personally think it works fine on roe 130gn norma SP
same round works perfectly well on reds of all sizes but may be light on boar. not shot boar so cant comment on that.
there is a fantastic video of a german aristocrat slotting running boar left right and centre with a blaser in 270....presumably works just fine also.

you can buy 90-160gn bullets but imagine you will struggle to find factory loads outside of 130-150gn in most gunshops.