Trail camera questions - I'm new at this

caorach

I posted the following on a trail camera forum to see if they have any ideas, I'm still learning so it is certainly something I'm doing wrong or simply that I've picked a bad spot but even so I thought to post here as well to see if anyone has any ideas or suggestions:

As you may know if you've read my previous posts I'm brand new at this trail cam thing and I put my Bushnell 437C out for its first real scouting trip on 3rd July and retrieved the card from it today, the 23rd July. I placed it looking at a well used deer trail and today saw some evidence of use a little further along as there were fresh slots in a muddy area where the deer have to jump over a little stream. The deer are sika and are mostly nocturnal so I would expect most activity at night.

Unfortunately on looking at the card there are no photos of deer. Over the 20 days the camera had triggered 11 times, it is set to take a 3 shot burst. The majority were caused by my positioning the camera and doing a walk past when I left it and also when I picked it up.

Now, bear with me as this is a bit long winded but here is the photo of my walk past the day I left the camera. This looks like pretty acceptable performance to me with a fast trigger time:

EK000004.jpg

During the time the camera was in position it triggered a few times but there is nothing at all in the photos except on one occasion. The photo below was taken this morning a few hours before I picked the camera up and I'm pretty sure that is a bird's wing in the lower left of the image:

EK000025.jpg

Just to prove the point here is the next image from the 3 shot burst, with the wing gone:

EK000026.jpg