Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fixed Penalty fine and car insurance

Fixed Penalty fine and car insurance

About 18 months ago I was stopped by the Police driving my friends work truck. I was fully authorised to be using it (he was sitting next to me as we were sharing the driving on a long trip) but it turned out that, due to a cock up in the estate office, the MOT had expired. I, as the driver, was given a 60 fixed penalty fine but no points. The estate reimbursed me.

I contacted my insurance company who said that, as it was a minor offence with no points, they were not interested and there were no implications for my own insurance.

I am also a named driver on my girlfriends car and her father is concerned that I may not be covered. Obviously we will have to contact them but in the meantime does anyone have any experience in this area? I like to have a bit of a heads up before I pick the phone up.

Thanks, Glyn.

No implications for offences without points but why wouldn't you be covered for the other car if already a named driver?

Quote Originally Posted by bewsher500 View Post
    No implications for offences without points but why wouldn't you be covered for the other car if already a named driver?
    He's concerned that an undisclosed offence will nullify the cover. It appears that different insurance companies have different rules.

Better safe than sorry. It may or may not invalidate the insurance on your girlfriend's car. But as Glyn intimates, if it came to it and you had a bump and had to claim, you could bet there would be a clause that would mean they don't have to pay out because you failed to notify them. You girlfriend wouldn't be overjoyed and her father even less so I imagine - reaching for the shotgun cabinet?

Yes, I do have some experience in this area.