Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DSC1 - whats wrong with it?

Regular Poster
    Blog Entries

DSC1 - whats wrong with it?

Is it the course or the person doing/completing it that's the problem. It often gets slated on here, I know sometimes it's tounge in cheek but often it doesn't seem that way.

As a novice, I know my flaws, I have done the dsc1 and it has helped me, I think it is very useful. I don't think it gives me carte Blanche to put on a hat and go out Willy.nilly...as was described on the course I attended, it sets a standard, not necessarily a perfect standard but certainly one which can be measured, with the increase in popularity of stalking, surely it's better to have something that more people can access, wizened old experienced sages are hard to come by for many.

There's nothing wrong with it, unfortunatley some do it and think that's it, you find there's still a lot to be learned
    its a bit like the driving test really it's just a start.

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)
    There's nothing wrong with it, so long as people accept it for what it is - "a largely knowledge based qualification which enables candidates to demonstrate their understanding of basic deer management principles and meat hygiene, and to show competence in shooting at simulated targets".

It wasn't designed to replace experience, nor as some type of qualification for gaining a lease or gaining a FAC. That it has become those - at least in some eyes - is not the fault of the Deer Stalking Certificate.

Of course there are also those who see the whole ethos of training - and the associated training providers - as some kind of license to print money, though they also seem reluctant to suggest any viable and scalable alternative.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us to see oursels as ithers see us!