Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 22.250 bullets

22.250 bullets

Firstly I've already put on my flack jacket and helmet! I'm relatively new to reloading and about to load my second batch for my Sako75 which is only used on foxes and other vermin.
    I'm using H380, Norma brass and CCI primers. The first batch i used 50 grn Hornady V-max and the rifle prefered 39grns of powder.
    With this combo I'm shooting 3/4 to 1 inch groups, at 150 yds which none of the foxes complained about! (although I'm sure the rifle is far more accurate than I am)! Prior to reloading I was using 55grn Federal factory ammo which didn't perform too well. My question is should I stick to the 50's or try out the 55 grn V-Max's.
    Any experienced replies will be greatfully received.
    Many thanks in advance
    Leej

SD Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by leej View Post
    Firstly I've already put on my flack jacket and helmet! I'm relatively new to reloading and about to load my second batch for my Sako75 which is only used on foxes and other vermin.
    I'm using H380, Norma brass and CCI primers. The first batch i used 50 grn Hornady V-max and the rifle prefered 39grns of powder.
    With this combo I'm shooting 3/4 to 1 inch groups, at 150 yds which none of the foxes complained about! (although I'm sure the rifle is far more accurate than I am)! Prior to reloading I was using 55grn Federal factory ammo which didn't perform too well. My question is should I stick to the 50's or try out the 55 grn V-Max's.
    Any experienced replies will be greatfully received.
    Many thanks in advance
    Leej
    If it ain't broke....... 5gr isn't going to make much difference
    Nooooooooooooobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!! Our main weapon is.........

No harm in trying the 55 V Max. I use the 55gr Blitzkings to good effect

..................should I stick to the 50's or try out the 55 grn V-Max's.

Many thanks in advance
    Leej