Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Roe buck condition

Roe buck condition

Evening all,

this weekend I was on a new permission and took the smallest of the two Roe Bucks that came to a safe range. I'm still relatively new to stalking and its the first buck I have taken in velvet. I took the carcass to a butcher that is highly recommended and he certainly came across as a very competent guy. anyway, he gave the beast a fondle and asked how healthy the animals health had seemed during the stalk and gralloch as the meat seemed a little adrenalin stressed or similar. So the shot was good. 30-06 right in the engine room with the beast dropping on the spot and also the overall condition and gralloch was good... liver was clear and lymphatic system seemed fine also.

So... I was wondering, could the meat seem stressed by the deer being in velvet?

thanks in advance,

Tbox

Quote Originally Posted by Tbox View Post
    Evening all,

this weekend I was on a new permission and took the smallest of the two Roe Bucks that came to a safe range. I'm still relatively new to stalking and its the first buck I have taken in velvet. I took the carcass to a butcher that is highly recommended and he certainly came across as a very competent guy. anyway, he gave the beast a fondle and asked how healthy the animals health had seemed during the stalk and gralloch as the meat seemed a little adrenalin stressed or similar. So the shot was good. 30-06 right in the engine room with the beast dropping on the spot and also the overall condition and gralloch was good... liver was clear and lymphatic system seemed fine also.

So... I was wondering, could the meat seem stressed by the deer being in velvet?

thanks in advance,

Tbox
    The meat is always "stressed" when the buyer wants to pay less......

Stan

[QUOTE=smullery;948652]The meat is always "stressed" when the buyer wants to pay less......

Agreed, when did the butcher become a vet, did he do a ph level test on the carcase