Thread: skull mount preparation.....assistance in West Berks

skull mount preparation.....assistance in West Berks

A friend is relocating to NZ and yesterday he grassed what may be his last Roe buck.

I would like to get it mounted fo him but not being a trophy hunter at all I have no kit for this or experience.

As this is quite a special mount, are their any experienced folk on TSD that would be willing to help.

As NZ is very Proactive at defending its biodiversity I also had in mind a couple of walking sticks....sort of his and hers......in case a head mount may be tricky to ship into NZ.

Any assistance gratefully received.

Thanks.....DD

Are you talking about just preparing the skull, or are you talking taxidermy if the later that's a real skill and you need to find a professional, some one on here will be able to put you in touch with one in your area, don't expect it to be cheap.

If its just the skull you want prepared there is no reason why you can't do it yourself it's not difficult, just takes a little time, if you need guidance just do a search on here there are a few posts detailing how it's done.
    there is even a video on here think it was by Jelen that covers it very well.

+1
    the jelen video (in three parts) is very good!

Quote Originally Posted by deerly departed View Post
    A friend is relocating to NZ and yesterday he grassed what may be his last Roe buck.

I would like to get it mounted fo him but not being a trophy hunter at all I have no kit for this or experience.

As this is quite a special mount, are their any experienced folk on TSD that would be willing to help.

As NZ is very Proactive at defending its biodiversity I also had in mind a couple of walking sticks....sort of his and hers......in case a head mount may be tricky to ship into NZ.

Any assistance gratefully received.

Thanks.....DD