Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Boat advice for a complete boat novice!

Boat advice for a complete boat novice!

Folks,

I am looking at a 16ft boat with a fiberglass body, its an old "Newman" boat (circa 1970's) it has an Evinrude 30hp outboard which runs but wont go into gear, a trolling motor, trailer, lifejackets, an electric depth/fish finder etc.

The boat body is in pretty good condition and all watertight from what he tells me, it was registered this year and so has been on the water within the last year.

A person I know is looking to sell this and I was considering a cheap boat for going out on the lake, nothing too serious just for taking the wife and kids out locally.

So what would be a roundabout figure I should be offering, I have no experience with boats but have pulled apart plenty of 2 stroke motors and can fit any parts it needs myself.

The other oddity is it's here in the states, so by all means comment what you would give in the UK for something like this as I'm just curious.

Regards,

GixerClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Boat1.JPG 
Views:	116 
Size:	85.3 KB 
ID:	58357Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Boat4.JPG 
Views:	94 
Size:	94.1 KB 
ID:	58358
    Last edited by gixer1; 22-06-2015 at 17:11.

An old engine with problems would probably be binned here, parts can be difficult to find and expensive. However, they're made over there so may be different.

Boat without engine next to nothing unless a collectors item, 100 / 300. I've had old boats given to me as they're money pits to rebuild. You think it a great deal then you find the steering cable's knackered, then the engine controls, then the screen's a bit rough, then the seats need doing (cheap I'll admit as I do them myself).
    It soon adds up and you still have an old boat.

Go round it carefully and check everything, make a list and total up the cost. Allow some for your time and see if that's what you want to spend on an old boat ?