Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Australia - any info or experiences about shooting down under?

Australia - any info or experiences about shooting down under?

I will be travelling to Australia at the end of the month to start working for a year. Haven't got a job lined up but I may get lucky! I was wondering if anybody on here has any knowledge, experiences, or contacts about shooting over there. I've been travelling for 6 months now and it is safe to say I miss shooting and my dogs like mad! Would be nice to get an opportunity to get a few shots off whilst I'm down under.

Searching online there seems to be lots of options, but it mostly involves large trophy fees etc, but I know Australia has a huge amount of so called pest animals, surely these can't be too expensive to hunt. I've read about goats, boar, foxes, rabbits, even camel and deer causing problems to native species and the environment; so I'm hoping there my be an affordable option to hunt over there and get some good game.

I'm 23, a passionate wildfowler, have been deer stalking whenever I can since 18 years old, and have been involved with pest control since a very young age. So I have experience and knowledge, and am confident with firearms.

Any information, contacts, or just general advice about shooting and hunting in Australia would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Byron.

If you get a job on a farm for a while im sure you will get the chance for some shooting - probably Roo at high speed off the back of a truck or shooting cattle for the summers meat! that was my experience.. A good agency is Rural Enterprises | Farming Jobs Australia | Farming Work Australia | Rural Recruitment | Farm Workers | Agriculture Jobs in Australia

Good luck

Any idea where you are going to be in AU? That will have a big impact on the answer