Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: recommended available powders

recommended available powders

Morning all,

I'm looking for some advise on powders, I'm a newbie when it comes to homeloading. I'm currently using hogsdon h4831 but I'm now struggling to source any down here in Devon, what other powders are there out there that are easier to obtain.
    The load I'm currently using 39gr of powder with a hornady 100gr btsp,
    Many thanks
    Ross

You don't say which cartridge you are loading but if .243 then Viht N160 is excellent.

same as above or h414 but use mag primers or vv140 sport arm in Dorset had some STORIES OF VARGET COMING BACK IN SOON ??? . if you could post the cal then there is more help out there for you feller h4831/sc ? so could be a 25-06 etc if you see our point.
    Last edited by paul o'; 25-07-2015 at 12:56. Reason: Productive smelling

Vit 140 is arguably the best powder for medium sixed cartridges based on the 308 case and is very good in the 243.

Ian.

Quote Originally Posted by Whitebeard View Post
    Vit 140 is arguably the best powder for medium sixed cartridges based on the 308 case and is very good in the 243.

Ian.
    I keep thinking I'd like to try some and one of the shops in the City has it, but the price is half-again what our domestic powders cost. At the volume I shoot it's just too costly. BTW, the cheapest domestic powder available in my area? H414. Less than half of the Vhit price. In my 243's it was the top performer with 100 grain SP's.~Muir

Quote Originally Posted by Muir View Post
    I keep thinking I'd like to try some and one of the shops in the City has it, but the price is half-again what our domestic powders cost. At the volume I shoot it's just too costly. BTW, the cheapest domestic powder available in my area? H414. Less than half of the Vhit price. In my 243's it was the top performer with 100 grain SP's.~Muir
    Muir
    is that for a pound or a kilo of vhit ?
    Bob