Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: types of bullet.

types of bullet.

hi, im pretty new to rifles and was wondering if someone could shed some light on the difrent kinds of bullet, i understand that the tip of the bullet is varied to control the rate of expantion and i understand: hollow tips and soft noses but i know nothing about balistic tips or polymer tips,

thankyou in advance

Balistic/polymer tips are one and the same ! They are also hollow point bullets that have the plastic insert that is to stop damage to the bullet and then help with expansion . Soft point is a hollow point jacket with the lead core exposed.

I think there was also a problem with some expanding hollow points whereby the "hole" would become plugged with something, maybe even skin or fur on entering, and this would prevent expansion. So, the plastic tip prevented the hole getting plugged and was designed that it initiated expansion. Because of a bad press, mostly relating to very early version of the bullets before the design was perfected from what I can gather, some stalkers will not allow you to use ballistic tips on their ground/deer. I suspect there is probably no grounds for this position where modern bullets designed for big game are concerned but it is worth checking if you were intending to buy or load ballistic tips and take them stalking.

There are also some soft point bullets, such as the Nosler Partition, which have two lead cores. The front core is exposed at the tip and designed for controlled expansion but it is seperated from the rear section of the lead core by a "partition" in the jacket of the bullet that aims to prevent the bullet losing mass or breaking up when striking an animal. Such premium bullets tend to be more expensive and are probably not necessary for most shots taken on UK deer but they are yet another option to add to your list of bullet types.

thankyou for the help, it cleared it all up for me.