Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 25-06 REM bullet choice

25-06 REM bullet choice

I will get my Savage Axis II in 25-06 in the next weeks. It's coming from France as in Spain, where I live, there is very little availability of rifles and ammo in this caliber. And now to the purpose of this thread, my choice of ammo is limited to:

Hornady Whitetail 117gr (Interlock)
    Hornady SST 117gr (already discarded)
    Federal Fusion 120gr
    Federal SPEER HOT CORE 117gr
    Remington Core Lockt 100gr

The target animals will be roe, chamois, fallow and hinds. The odd boar could also cross in my way while stalking, but I will continue using my 30.06 in night boar hunts and for reds.

I have already ordered a couple of boxes of 117gr Hornady Interlocks that will arrive with the rifle, but I'm open and eager to read your suggestions as I've no experience at all with the 25.06 and it's an unknown round in Spain.

I find if the rifle is a 1-10 twist, a 100gn Sierra Prohunter 1620 works well...very well if the right propellant choice is made. Mine fly best from my 22" barrel with around 53gns IMR4350. The heavier 115 & 117gn bullets...well, I haven't needed to get to these as the 100gn does the job perfectly well. On heavy stags too.
    Blaser K95 Luxus Kipplaufbüchse .25-06Rem. Zeiss 8x56, 110gn Nosler Accubond = Game Over!

Myself and a pal rate the Federal 117 Hot Cor.....seriously good ammo

I've found Remington Core-Lokt 120gr to be quite accurate. I've also then reloaded that brass with something else and had good results too. I've not tried any of the other exact same types you mention. If you can possibly get hold of others I would say that Sako 117gr Gamekings are in my experience great as a factory round.

If you are tempted to reload my experiences of the following have been excellent but of course things may be different in another gun.
    Sierra 100gr gamekings with N560
    Hornady 110gr Interbonds with IMR 4831