Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ruger American - any hands-on experience?

Ruger American - any hands-on experience?

I'm going to be looking for a useable, reliable 308 and the over-riding consideration is going to be price. I know there will be second hand options to be had but if I'm honest I'd be more comfortable with a new gun as I've got no experience to judge what is a decent used buy (condition etc.). Also keen on a synthetic rather than wood stock.

Looking at Guntrader the first new gun that appears is the Ruger American (£399). Online reviews seem favourable and while it's nothing fancy it seems to have a good trigger, decent magazine and be accurate enough as a hunting rifle. Beyond that price range the next obvious option is the Howa, which may well be a step up but if I'm honest the extra £150 could be better spent by me on scope mounts, bipod, ammo etc. I'd also like to have some prospect of picking up a cheap 22lr at some point for cheap pratice.

So, any real experience of the Ruger out there? I know it won't be a Tikka T3 but there's no real point going there as I can't afford one of those, even second hand.

Cheers,

Andy

Andyf. I had a ruger American in .308. Found it reliable and accurate. Trigger was great and accuracy was sufficient for stalking. Very very light and easy to carry. On the downside it's not something you would want to fire a lot of .308 through as a range gun. Barrel heats up quickly and the light weight makes the recoil a bit severe after a while. Overall I was very pleased with it. They also do it in .22 rf

I have a 22LR BSA Sportsman 15 you can have for free if you pick up the RFD costs. Mounting a scope is a challenge though.