Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: If Ackley is so Improved, why do.....

If Ackley is so Improved, why do.....

.... new cartridges like the 6.5 Creedmoor not utilise the same feature of flatter shoulders?

I am a ballistics novice so please forgive any glaring ignorance, but I thought that one of the major advantages of the AI, for example in 243, was that the brass does not 'grow' with repeated firings from the same case, and that this is mainly on account of the shoulders being a much shallower angle from the horizontal, than the standard 243 round. Makes sense to my rudimentary understanding of the physics involved.

I've been looking at newer calibres and recently my interest's been piqued by the 6.5 Creedmoor, I know it might be a fad etc. etc. but my question is not so much about 'Should I get one' but more... Why did Hornady not design the Ackley feature of the shallower shoulders, in to the cartridge?
    Wood stabilising at packratwoods.uk
    UK knife chat at edgematters.uk

Ask the folk who built it - http://bulletin.accurateshooter.com/...oor-cartridge/ they're not hard to get hold of. Also read the comments at the bottom of this article.

Regards

JCS
    Last edited by jcampbellsmith; 24-10-2015 at 08:52.

Creedmoor 6.5 seems to be here to stay.

Best Rifle Caliber - What The Pros Use - PrecisionRifleBlog.com

If I was starting out again I would have to consider it instead of 260 Remington, but having invested in 260 Rem for 16 years I'm not about to change.

Quality brass is now available - 6.5 Creedmoor

If you get one made, do stipulate that it will handle factory ammunition.

Regards

JCS
    Last edited by jcampbellsmith; 24-10-2015 at 08:53.

The main area where you gain case capacity is by reducing the taper of the case. The sharp shoulders do add to the capacity but very little compared to the reduction in taper.