£1000 to spend on Rifle and scope, what would you recommend?

Co1

So, I've got a grand to spend on a rifle and scope. I'm guessing second hand is the way to go. But I'm a complete novice so could do with some advice on what to look for and what to avoid, as well as some direct recommendations. I'm looking for .243, for roe stalking. Like I said, I'm a total beginner so imagine your explaining this to the village idiot and you'll be pitching at the right level.

Cheers
Col

So, I've got a grand to spend on a rifle and scope. I'm guessing second hand is the way to go. But I'm a complete novice so could do with some advice on what to look for and what to avoid, as well as some direct recommendations. I'm looking for .243, for roe stalking. Like I said, I'm a total beginner so imagine your explaining this to the village idiot and you'll be pitching at the right level.

Cheers
Col

If you want change from your grand you could do a lot worse than buying Stratts' BRNO as advertised in the classifieds. I'm not on commission or anything, but there really is a danger I'll end up buying it otherwise just to scratch an itch and fill my ticket...

Normally, you would be advised to spend extra money on a good scope. I would say spend it on the rifle you can afford/want, and get a cheapy scope to start with until you can afford a good one.

If you really are a complete beginner, I'd say spend the money on buying staking rather than a rifle.

Buy a S/H Schmidt and bender 8x56 etc £350

which leaves £650 for rifle , mod and scope rings

you could be lucky and find a tikka t3

theres a lovely tikka t3 wood 243 in the classified forsale by Highbird Mark I can't remember the price tho