Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wildfowling on the marsh

Wildfowling on the marsh

Hi guys I have been invited to go fowling on some marshes. I have never done this type of fowling before. What clothing is best to take? I have waders but not sure of the type of jacket etc

Quote Originally Posted by danban View Post
    Hi guys I have been invited to go fowling on some marshes. I have never done this type of fowling before. What clothing is best to take? I have waders but not sure of the type of jacket etc
    A long stout stick, face veil, long peak cap, also it is quite mild so you will cook on the walk out.
    You need to swing so no good taking a coat with you trussed up like a xmas turkey....

As it is very mild of late I take just have a couple of thin layers with my smock and have a thicker top wrapped up in plastic bag in my decoy bag.

Take it all in an enjoy, don't let the mud put you off as it is only mud....

Tim.243
    Stalking is very much like going to the night club

You can always tell an Essex Boy, just you cant tell him much...

An hour in the field is worth a week of typing trash.....

If your waders are thigh waders then take with you a netted bag with some straw in it for sitting on. Saves your car seats from sticky mud.

+1 good stick and a bag to sit on I use an old small food tub, like the type the game keepers use make into feed bins , its screw lid takes care of you food , warm drink's cart's and that coat it keeps them dry and its a seat I also have a small bit of net to make a hide from with some short tent shock polls in the bin for support ,
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim.243 View Post
    A long stout stick, face veil, long peak cap, also it is quite mild so you will cook on the walk out.
    You need to swing so no good taking a coat with you trussed up like a xmas turkey....

As it is very mild of late I take just have a couple of thin layers with my smock and have a thicker top wrapped up in plastic bag in my decoy bag.