Thread: Buck Fever

Buck Fever

Now I've been shooting deer for about 18 years now and have shot a number of different types of deer.

I was out this evening and within 10 minutes of arriving out comes a pricket and my heart takes off at a million miles an hour! I had to sit there for a few minutes to calm down before taking the shot!!

So my question is, does anyone else still get buck fever, and why do we get it?

Alex

Were you as excited as this?

I would suspect that we all get a touch of "buck fever" now and then when out stalking! I certainly get a hell of a rush when I first spot my "quarry" which sends my heart onto overdrive! - I don't know if that is buck fever or not, I surpose it is.
    When I first spot my "target" I have to work hard to keep in mind that I am on his territory and not him on mine, his sences are much more sensitive than mine and as such he has the odds stacked in his favour!
    That to me is what deer stalking is all about!

Edit: No jamross mate, not quite as bad as that! Savanna certainly was quite excited wasn't she - But she wasn't cold!
    Last edited by FrenchieBoy; 22-11-2015 at 22:48.

I think most have probably seen that video, but I love it! She's an absolute star, 'nobody cares about the bighorn sheep...!!!' She reminds me of what we should all hopefully feel when we get out stalking!