Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which scope

Thumbs up which scope

Evening gents,

Need some advice on a scope for my first rifle. Budget,as always, is my biggest concern and am looking to spend around 500-600. Have been looking at the Nikon Monarch 7 2.5-10 x50 SF at 600. Anyone know what Nikon scopes are like? Would I be better buying a new 'low end' Swarovski or maybe even a second hand scope?

Any advice or ideas on scopes would be very much appreciated as I have no experience on this.

Cheers

Joe

Second hand S&B 6x42 or 8x56 200-350 job done

if you can afford a Swarovski get that over any other

The Monarch 7 is the latest generation and a very good scope.
    Unless you are going to be shooting a short ranges and very long range over 12x, you won't get any value out of parallax tuning, nice as it may be. Side focus costs a significant amount more than parallax focus on the occular lense, on any brand.

Since you are starting out, try to shoot through some other people's scopes at the range. Yes, a top end Zeiss or Swaro will be impressive, like a Mercedes S class, but do you need that for yourself?

I would recommend starting with a lower end Monarch or even the Prostaff, in a 3-9x40 or 4-12x... not much money, let's you learn what you like and don't like, what you really need. And if you buy a good scope, maybe secondhand, like Leupold M8 6x42 or VX2, Meopta 7x50 or Nikon Prostaff, you can sell it for what you paid. The Burris Fullfield E1 3-9x40 or Vortex Diamondback are lots of scope for the money.

How about a vortex viper 6-24 PST great scope and on budget

More important is what will you be using the scope for? What rifle, what range, targets/varmints/deer? Is low light important? Illuminated reticle? All these will have a huge impact on what sort of scope to go for. A second hand scope from a decent brand with good after sales care will be just as safe/reliable if not more so than a lesser scope that is brand new.