Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What rifle do I buy?

What rifle do I buy?

Hi all,

im new to the shooting world, but have wanted to get a rifle for a while. I'm one of those people who obsesses about something for a while, finds out all the info I need to know, then something comes along and I forget about it. As this is the 3rd round for the "I want to get my FAC and learn" obsession, I feel I've paid my dues to have it.
    So, I've looked at a few rifles and their costs, ammunition and costs, licensing (and usually more costs), and think I want something along the lines of a mosin (ammunition a cheap, easy to maintain etc) or a lever action .357/.44 (still cheap rounds and they look pretty interesting). However, I realise that in saying "I want this" without having ever owned or even fired one. So what's everyones thoughts, opinions or suggestions? Does anyone have any experience with anything like these?

thanks

alex

Join a local shooting club and try some different guns there before you think about buying

Out of interest, what will you be using the rifle(s) for? I'm guessing by your choices targets?
    Any Questions Feel Free to PM me

Nice to want but do you have "good reason" to own? wont get a licence just because you would like one - good luck though

Thanks for the replies, Greener Jim, I'm ideally looking to stalk as soon as I can, and have had an invite to a muntjac and fallow cull early next year. I like the sustainability of stalking, ie no factory farmed meat etc, but this is not my primary reason for wanting to stalk. I fully intend to practice proper shooting competence, so will log a considerable amount of range and stalk witnessing before ever being behind the rifle, but would just like to know what is a well review rifle for this purpose, whilst being cost effective to keep (ammunition + rifle cost)

Quote Originally Posted by Ray7756 View Post
    Join a local shooting club and try some different guns there before you think about buying