Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Roost shooting crows

Roost shooting crows

I've been talking to a couple of local farmers about reviving a village crow shoot that used to take place here but has fizzled out over the years. I've taken part in large organised crow shoots before so I'm familiar with the concept but I must admit that I don't really know much more an I observed at the time. We've a few woods dotted about so I suspect it'll be a case of a few guns in each under obvious roosts (bird crap on the floor) and hopefully keep the birds moving between the woods. If anyone has any suggestions or advice to help things go smoothly I'd appreciate it. If I recall the last shoot I took part in some ten years back started just after the clocks went forward in spring and went on once a week for a few weeks.... Does this sound right?

I'm pretty new to the village so I'd like to end up as productively as possible!!

Thanks in advance

Still happens to a degree down Settle way mate, guns in various woods to help keep them on the move. Some of the keepers used to get together and organise things but, as you say, it doesn't happen as much as it did. Same with fox drives.

one or two places around here roost shoot pidgeons after the keeper has caught up his laying stock, just do your homework, sit up and see where and when the birds are flying and place people acordingly i must admidt it can be some very good sport

Crows or Rooks?

Quote Originally Posted by JTO View Post
    Crows or Rooks?
    Rooks Isuspect,although Idoubt he is prejudist

SD Regular
    If it is rooks then timing is critical. You want to be at that few days when they are old enough to quit the nest yet not old enough to fly. So they just sit about on the branches. Thus the name "branchers". This is usually sometime in March.