Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scope recommendations.

Scope recommendations.

I'm looking for a new scope for a new rifle in the 5-600 price bracket.
    It should have adjustable magnification and an objective lens of 40 - 42.
    It will be atop a rifle for Africa but also for use in the UK.
    I've been looking around and must admit not looked much beyond German/European glass, the dependable Zeiss Duralyt can be picked up quite reasonably but I've also seen the Leupold VXR range of scopes which seem to offer good value for money but I've no experience with the brand.
    Any other suggestions would be welcome.
    Best Regards,
    Adrian.

Jedward. The reason why there are two barrels on a shotgun.

You will not go wrong with a Leupold,I have several and they are all good. Fantastic quality and value.Still prefer my Zeiss but they come at a cost.

Find a S/H Swarovski PH 2.5-10x42. Job done. They appear here regularly.
    Brian.

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you......

if you can find somthing from the big 3 then thats going to be your obvious choice after that I would be looking at either meopta or doctor failing that I would hold onto my cash, in my opnion there are a lot of scopes in your price bracket which just arnt up to scrach opticaly yes the may have adjustable this and illuminated that but none of that is worth a toss if you cant see your target in low light

You don't say what sort of rifle for which this scope is intended to be employed in Africa, nor what game.

My brother has a Swaro 2.5-10x42 on a newer .270 Win and is impressed, but has been using the same Leupold 2-8x36 on a 7mm RM for 30 years, from Alaska to Africa. He has not had to touch the knobs since he sighted it in: still dead zero.