Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A little bit of help confused

A little bit of help confused

Hi all a little bit of help needed I am a bit confused with some bullet heads I have bought for my 308 to reload I am very new to reloAding the bullet I have in question is the hornady 155g a max for a 308 win I intended to use it for roe but all the places I look on the net one half says ok and really good and the other says do no use for medium or large game if not suitable I have 70 155g a max in 308 for sale if any one is interested cheers Craig

A max bullets are for target use as far as I'm aware.

Craig, in the past they were used in a lot of deer stalking & found to be excellent in all weights/cals suitable for deer, originally CXP deer rated in the states, but no longer legally suitable for deer in UK as they have been classed as not designed to expand. Steve.
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

Hornady describe them as target use & not recommended for game. However, Nathan Foster in his extensive research on his 'Knowledgebase' describes A Max bullets as his 'Go to' bullet for knocking down medium sized game.
    There have been a few threads on this subject, so it comes down to a matter of experience and personal choice.

Personally I have avoided using the A Max on game and always selected a specific 'Game' bullet. Hornady make them, as do Nosler, Sierra and several other manufacturers.
    Blaser K95 Luxus Kipplaufbüchse .25-06Rem. Zeiss 8x56, 110gn Nosler Accubond = Game Over!

A max were sectioned by a member on here some time back, during a fairly brisk discussion on the use of A max for game, Might have been Tartinjock or Glogin maybe, wonder where tarty went?
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

Quote Originally Posted by finnbear270 View Post