Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: new to deer staliking a few quick question

new to deer staliking a few quick question

I'm relatively new to deer stalking I have been offered some stalking in Marston near Grantham I was just wondering if any of you were in that neck off the woods and know about deer numbers in the area and the stalking iv been offered is a few hundred Acres for almost a grand. I'm wondering weather it is worth buying into a syndicate in that area or is there better areas near Grantham that would be worth trying to peruse? Thanks for replies in advance regards B

Welcome to SD. Some might say as a new stalker you're very lucky to be offered any stalking at all. However a 1000 is a fair sum of money for a couple hundred acres if there's no deer on it. I would suggest you do some reconnaissance and find out what you think is on there. While the ground is soft have a good look for tracks or well worn racks. Look for hair on fence wires. See if the trees have been browsed. You might have 200 acres that "hold very few deer, but is sandwiched between woodlands or feeding area's. You need to look for the signs of deer. Then depending on your findings decide if you are happy to pay for it. Other than that I'd be surprised if there's a syndicate you can just buy into. From my experience you have to put your hand in the pocket and get out, then a few people are met and opportunities come up. Good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by Benji53 View Post
    I'm relatively new to deer stalking I have been offered some stalking in Marston near Grantham I was just wondering if any of you were in that neck off the woods and know about deer numbers in the area and the stalking iv been offered is a few hundred Acres for almost a grand. I'm wondering weather it is worth buying into a syndicate in that area or is there better areas near Grantham that would be worth trying to peruse? Thanks for replies in advance regards B