Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: clarification of a previous thread started by me

clarification of a previous thread started by me

I asked a question on here over a week ago but I didn't specify a great deal when asking the questions. Well here's another go at it, a little more about me I'm not a complete newbie to deer stalking iv been stalking roe on my own land for a couple of years now and iv been involved in vermin control/rifle shooting for a while. The part where I am a newbie is buying into stalking syndicates and paying for my stalking. Iv been offered 600 acres of stalking close to Grantham which has fallow on which I have seen with my own eyes and muntjac which I have not seen and to me a grand is a lot to part with. My main question is the land in question isn't a million miles from Marston is there anyone local who may know what the deer numbers in the area are and is it worth buying into the area. I was talking to a friend the other night who seemed to think that with there being a good number of large estates with commercial bird shoots on he said that deer numbers would be fewer where these where. There is such a shoot not far from the land if been offered could this be a problem? I'd like to thank those of you you who replied to my other post regards Ben

Thats not a huge amount of cash at all if the ground has habitat that brings fallow onto it in reasonable numbers.
    Deer Stalking. Training and Courses. Deer Stalking Certificate Level 1, Training and Witnessing for the Level 2 Assessment.
    www.deercentral.co.uk

Berkshire then Dorset now Herefordshire with a good dose of Dorset
    Blog Entries
    View my Gallery (15)View my Gallery (15)
    Some stalking now costs £7/acre to rent. So £1000 is cheap.
    20 years ago it was £1/acre

Now I know what you are thinking here. You're thinking will I get £1000 worth of venison off the place. Why else would you be talking about quantity of deer?