Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 5.56 - 223

5.56 - 223

Hi all, right don't crucify me on this question, as im new to reloading but someone advised me that you can re-size 5.56 old military cases to suit 223, ? is that right and if so is that what people use ?, I have also heard that old military spent cases are better as they are thicker ? - P.S I don't have a 223 just wondered if anyone currently used this brass .

Yes you can resize 556 to use in a 223. The main difference between the 2 is in the chambering the leade in the 556 is a lot longer. Some people prefer thinner brass as they can get more powder in. I use GGG brass and its dam good stuff

Thanks Danny, just wondered that's all, and wondered why people don't just use old surplus military to reload with as it must be way cheaper than other brass

The main reason is probably because milspec ammo has crimped primers which is an extra step to get rid of. Also some milspec brass is pretty brittle so will need annealing before reusing

SD Regular
    Thicker isn't always better in the rifles we have legally permitted in the UK. If we had self-loading rifles thicker would indeed be better.

But we don't. So the only real advantage is cost.

If they are cheaper go ahead. But if commercial, good quality, .223 cases are available I'd choose them if they were the same price. And yes beware the difference in capacity.

Most, not all, 5.56mm is poor quality brass compared to the better commercial products. Even where it is 'good', ie consistent weights, wall and neck circumferences around the case, properly annealed necks and shoulders, it has a lower capacity compared to Winchester, Norma, and Lapua 223. In such a small capacity case, that's generally a bad thing, reducing usable maximum charges and hence velocities.