Thread: Roe Cull Plan Help

Roe Cull Plan Help

Evening all,

I am just getting into stalking. I have done my DSC1 and stalked a few times with friends and once with a guide.

I have been given 435 acres of lowland stalking in Surrey. There is 1 60 acre wood in the middle of the property where most of the roe seem to be (livestock in a few of the surrounding fields). And next doors boundary is a huge wood approximately 200 acres.

The owners of the land I have been given love seeing the deer and are only allowing me the shoot their if it is in the overall benefit of the deer which Is me all over. I'm not interested in shooting big trophy bucks.

I've done a lot of spotting over the last month and used trail camera to estimate the numbers. I believe there are around 6-8 permanent deer in the wood. I have only seen one maybe 2 mature 6 pointer bucks. The other are all still in velvet and look to me like yearling maybe second year bucks.

I think there are around 2-3 does in the wood.

So my question is how would you go about managing (if at all!) the deer on this property? There are probably in the region of 9-14 deer in the large wood neighbouring. Last night I watched 2 young bucks heading from the neighbouring property to my wood.

With all of the above in mind, how would you create your cull plan. You commented on another post that going off the basis that 1 deer to ever 20 acres is a good starting point.

Would you cull the younger buck or will the mature bucks push them out anyway? I've heard cull 60% young 30% mature 10% old is this a good starting point? In another topic, a member mentioned they cull 40% of the population per year?

I really appreciate anything you all have to say.

Thanks and best regards,