Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gralloching

Gralloching

Hello
    Im new to stalking I have been lucky enough to get myself a few premissions I'm just after advice and be shown the whole gralloching and even butchering and skinning process or point me in the right direction for a course? I am booking myself into a dsc1 come end of the year when there is one local. I'm 21 very keen into my field sports mostly self taught but something like this I learn better shown as deer are not quite the same as smaller game and as easy to come by. I can offer someone a hand in return as I'm a electrician. I'm located in Suffolk

cheers Ben

A good place to start would be the Deer Initiative web site and their best practice material.

The Deer Initiative - managing wild deer population in England and Wales

Practicle courses in gralloching and larder work are few but some DSC courses do include a demonstration. Best bet is to find a local stalker that can mentor you.

Lots of videos on YouTube but you can't beat a real demo, find someone local who has one in a chiller.
    some good bios on here for a start

butchery is a personal thing as much as a best way to be done
    lots on YouTube too

good luck and a good offer in return

PM inbound mate I may be able to help if you're willing to travel as I need my larder wiring up and lights fitting so could kill two birds with one stone!

Stratts
    Follow my stalking journey & SD sponsored DSC1 progress blog here

DSC1 forum sponsorship - Blogs - The Stalking Directory

Thanks a very kind offer its not that far from me I'm sure I can help with that. Be had a look through them but you can't match the real thing.
    Thanks Ben

Berg on here owns a butchers shop in Suffolk and runs courses on deer.
    The BDS have a DSC 1 in October in Bardwell.
    Send me a PM of where you are and I may be able to help further.
    MS