Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A comparison of mid-priced binoculars for stalking

A comparison of mid-priced binoculars for stalking

A comparison of mid priced binoculars for stalking

I thought it might be useful if I shared my thoughts with those currently in the market for mid priced binoculars for stalking. Be warned, this is a fairly lengthy review but I’ve sectioned it so you can scroll down to what perhaps might interest you (or not!). I am no expert and have only written down the things here that mattered to me.

I’ve attempted to offer down to earth observations based upon a very recent experience in the field with an array of mid priced binoculars which were kindly loaned to me on trial from a supplier that I’ve been a good customer of for many years for my camera lenses and spotting scopes and where I’ve spent a lot over the years (hence have a lot of trust built up otherwise this test would not have been possible). I know that there’ve been loads of threads on binoculars but this one attempts to be a little different having regard to what is currently on the market and having tried each in turn in real world conditions. My long suffering wife insists that I sell off some of my collection before adding any more to it, so I had some explaining to do when organising this binocular marathon!

Most recommendations from seasoned stalkers seem to be firmly in the camp suggesting saving the pennies for premium glass. Whilst I share much empathy towards that, many of us that don’t have nor can justify the expenditure for premium priced binoculars, maybe after spending a significant sum already on rifles, scopes and reloading gear.

That leaves a choice between a good used pair (which tend to get snapped up very quickly when they do appear) and new mid-priced bins (let’s forget entry level as a vast majority of budget optics simply don’t cut it in the field).