Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tranporting a carcass and subsequent buthery.

Tranporting a carcass and subsequent buthery.

Apologies if this is in the wrong section. I'm new to deerstalking and have yet to undertake the two I have booked. Another post has got me thinking about an issue. Here goes then. I attend a shoot, and manage to shoot a deer. The person I'm with grallochs the deer appropriately at the scene. I pay, or have arranged, payment for, the carcass. It's in Scotland, I'm in Derby. I've seen American films where hunters tie their deer onto their car to transport it. So, the question is, is it legal to do the same in UK, to bring it back nearer to home to where a friend can butcher it for me for my own consumption? I doubt that I'll want to do this, but the image of a deer of suitable size strapped to the roof rack off down the motorway keeps coming to mind.

Don't no how legal it is but I wouldn't want to think of all the road / traffic contamination it would accumulate it may be seen as offensive to Joe public , not a good idea !

Quote Originally Posted by Shootist View Post
    Apologies if this is in the wrong section. I'm new to deerstalking and have yet to undertake the two I have booked. Another post has got me thinking about an issue. Here goes then. I attend a shoot, and manage to shoot a deer. The person I'm with grallochs the deer appropriately at the scene. I pay, or have arranged, payment for, the carcass. It's in Scotland, I'm in Derby. I've seen American films where hunters tie their deer onto their car to transport it. So, the question is, is it legal to do the same in UK, to bring it back nearer to home to where a friend can butcher it for me for my own consumption? I doubt that I'll want to do this, but the image of a deer of suitable size strapped to the roof rack off down the motorway keeps coming to mind.