Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shortcut

Shortcut

Hi please can anybody who has a similar setup give me some advice . I am about to embark on homeloading I have a Sako .243 with a 1 in 10 twist 21 inch barrel . I use it for Roe and Muntjac primarily. I have tried many different brands of factory ammo and Federal 100 grain gave best results although I have not managed to get a good group (2.25" at 100 yds) I have not missed an animal yet. I appreciate that I have to experiment with differant loads but need some help as in what bullets primers cases etc to buy. Many thanks from a complete novice.

Your best bet is to find someone near you to show you the ropes.

In the meanwhile try and get a copy of the Lee loading manual and have a good read of the first few chapters.

I'm sure you'll be able to better that group, I'm a little surprised you haven't managed to find a better grouping factory round, have tried sako's own 90 grain loading?

Yes Tried sako 90 grain half inch group in my mates sako 75s 2.5 inch group in my Sako 85s. Mainly looking for advice on what bullet to buy along with primers cases ect then I can consult manual to try and achieve best results. I know that it is psycological but I need to have faith in this new rifle

Not being funny but was it you or your mate that shot the 1/2 inch group with his rifle? If it was him how does he shoot with your rifle? If still 2.5 inches I would take the rifle back I am sure SAKO guarantee 1 inch groups at 100m

Dave

Quote Originally Posted by devilishdave View Post
    Not being funny but was it you or your mate that shot the 1/2 inch group with his rifle? If it was him how does he shoot with your rifle? If still 2.5 inches I would take the rifle back I am sure SAKO guarantee 1 inch groups at 100m

Dave
    i think your correct there dave , i know each rifle is tested before leaving the factory for accuracy with a 1 in grouping !