Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 17hmr for 204 ruger swap

17hmr for 204 ruger swap

I'm thinking about swapping my 17hmr for a 204 ruger.
    ive got a 22lr for rabbits. 204 would be mostly for crows and geese.
    was thinking a 204 or 223.
    Could you give me a bit more info on the 204.
    Cheers

I did the same. Had a 223 too and used 40grain superperformance in both. Nothing in it really. Maybe a slight reduction in recoil favouring the 204.

I am relatively new to the .204. Had it for a few months. Must say it's a cracking round. Best shot so far is a 357 yard. 1 mildot holdover. Hardly any recoil. Fast and flat with great knock down power. I see no draw backs.

I'd go with .222 or .223 at least then you can shoot roe in Scotland with them I love my .222 best rifle I ever bought
    There are no perfect men in this world ..... Only perfect intentions

thats like selling your spanner to buy a hammer if funds only allow 1 and not both then funds won't like sending 204 ammo imo .if your not shooting many rounds then why not.do some research on twist rates first and check out 204ruger.com great fun cal

It would be of interest if people with long-term experience of both .204 and .223 could pass on judgement/opinion on the likely barrel life of each calibre.

Quote Originally Posted by Blacknsilver View Post
    I shoot both out to ranges that are at the limits of the cartridges abilities. What is stated in the linked post is true: driven at the same speeds, the say 40 grain VM from the 204 will shoot flatter and have less drift than the same wt bullet from the 223. However...