Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: DCS1 Benefits

DCS1 Benefits

As the title says, what are the real benefits of doing this course for myself. I've been shooting C/F for a couple of years (Military experience aside) now and my ticket was opened some months back. One of the things the FLO had wanted to see from me was a DSC1 qualification. I was adamant at the time I wouldn't do the course as I considered it to be yet another money making program. I have no intention of taking paid stalks or joining a syndicate at this moment in time. I only get to shoot Muntjac on my local permissions and have just recently shot a couple of Roe on my neighbouring county permissions.
    I'm okay at breaking down a carcass but do want to undertake the "Trained hunter" course fairly soon, as I supply a couple of places with game when requested (in fur). I also have one eye open on the future and things will only ever get more difficult regarding shooting, so now I'm no longer under any pressure from the FLO office to attain the qual, I wonder if I may as well just do the whole course and at least have a paper qualification which may well be advantageous to myself in the distant future.
    Are there any guys out there who were already stalking/shooting game prior to undertaking the DSC1 and found it to be of real benefit or on the other hand, of little value to them?
    Last edited by Harry Brown; 11-12-2016 at 20:35.

I found it useful, and interesting.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
    Sako TRG-42 folder .338LM🔫 Sako TRG-22 .308/.260🔫 Tikka 595 .222(NV'd up) 🔫 AR15 .223/300BLK 🔫Franchi 12g 520 9shot🔫Baikal .410 stealth🔫Ruger #1.243

Home | Varminting UK

I thought it very useful. The discussions with other people on the course were almost as useful as the course content itself.

David.
    Last edited by Kalahari; 11-12-2016 at 22:04.

i was a cynic about the dsc1. i only sat it because it seemed to be a prerequisite to get on a syndicate.