Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opticron Discovery 10x42 or 8x50 Binoculars

Opticron Discovery 10x42 or 8x50 Binoculars

Guys and girls..................does anyone have experiance of Opticron Discovery 10x42 or 8x50 Binoculars.....Any thoughts please, I'm considering a pair in the next few days. Im quite new to stalking {although not shooting} and that will be there main purpose.

Regards,

CADEX

Regular Poster
    Hi cadex, for a low end priced pair of bins these are actualy quite good, a friend of mine is the manager of Caerlaverock Wetland Centre uses hers on a daily basis for observation and identification, thay are not heavy and for the price quite good.

Dry Powder.

Barry

Quote Originally Posted by Cadex100 View Post
    Guys and girls..................does anyone have experiance of Opticron Discovery 10x42 or 8x50 Binoculars.....Any thoughts please, I'm considering a pair in the next few days. Im quite new to stalking {although not shooting} and that will be there main purpose.

Regards,

CADEX
    You'll not hear a bad word said about Opticron binos from me. They are good kit at good money. I don't have experience of the models you are after, but I do have a pair of 8x32s that I think are well worth the money, and I did have a pair of 8x42s, but sold those when I got my Swarovskis.
    Clifton Cameras is where I got mine and their service was fabulous.
    You can't say muntjac without saying, Mmmmmm.

I have a surplus pair of Opticron Oregon DCF 8x42's. I bought them new for approx 100 about 6 years ago, and they've only been lightly used. I'm not sure how they compare with the Discovery's, but I'm willing to sell them for 45 plus postage.

Nice glass - but the 8x42 would be easier for lowland stalking.

The lower mag = more depth of field = less focussing. It is also easier to 'resolve' the image with a lower mag set of glasses, bear in mind you will often be holding them unsupported.