Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bullets for Boar .308

Bullets for Boar .308

Right gents got a night booked in September with IanF so just bolted a Leupold 1.25-4x20 euro 30 onto my now dedicated .308 boar rifle ready for this and two trips overseas next year. My thoughts now turn to bullets or bullet heads to be precise. I am thinking along the lines of Nosler Accubond 150gn sbt's has anyone any thoughts or even experience with these? or recomendations on others?

Thanks

Leon

Partitions, grand slams, barnes, natralis bear claws or swifts.
    Hard and bonded is the name of the game.

I've been using Winchester 180gr Round Nose soft point for the last ten years in my .308.
    Now, because I can't get them any more, am now using Sierra 180 gr Game king.
    I have also bought some PPU 170gr Grom to try this year as I saw them being used in Croatia to good effect.
    Most Boar are shot at less than fifty yards so most any bullet of .270 or up and of a reasonable weight will do the trick.
    People on Driven Boar shoots tend to go as high as possible, 9.3 etc, because with driven shoots the bullet placement is not always as accurate as it could be and on a Boar full of adrenalin needs to be seriously damaged to stop it in it's tracks.
    If you are shooting from a high seat over feed stations, bullet placement can be more accurate and will mostly drop the Boar on the spot.

Hi Leon choice of nosler 150grn will do the job.

However i seriously doubt your choice of scope, Ian hunts the same way as we do from high seats over feed stations at about 100yds.

Even with a completely clear full moon night i doubt if you will be able to see a boar through the scope.

I have had lots of stalkers try for boar using 44mil objective lens scopes (far bigger than you will use) and not be able to shoot because they cant see them at less than 100yds, I tell all of my clients to use not less than a 50mil objective lens scope.

Your scope is great for driven boar.