Rain and Roe

scrun63

Hiya All

I'm after picking some of those brains out there. You may have seen from my intro post that i'm new to this game. and need as much help as i can get.

I'm up to the Borders this weekend and after checking the weather see it's forecast rain rain and more rain. I gather that roe aren't daft either and dont like to stand out in the soaking wet. Now here's the rub. Anyone got any tips on how to maximise my chances of a shot. I'm on Forestry Commision type land with areas which are heavily wooded to open clear fell. Am I best stalking, high seating ( which will be drier, but i'd rather have a wet shot :oops: than a damp day) or what ? Any tips where to go and where they are likely to be. Any advice greatfully received and if they are conflicting i can try them all out and feed back the results because i'm there for the whole weekend :eek:)))

Thanks in anticipation

Scrun

Don't think there is ever any set pattern to it my mate drove around some land we have to see which fields had been harvested at midday before we went there the next morning and it was ****ing down he came across 2 separate bucks out and about plonker didn't take his rifle as he didn't expect to see anything went back early next day nice sunny morn and never saw one.I always tend to head for the woods if its damp probably for my benefit rather than the deers.
ATB Neil.

In my experience they certainly do not like it. I have seen them run for cover when rain starts and then come back out again when its blown over. So being on the ground when it is clearing up may work.