Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 30-06 Springfield

30-06 Springfield

Good evening everyone……I’m in the process of completing a variation for a larger calibre rifle……..Until now I have been shooting an HMR for rabbits, crows and the odd fox and a .223 for stalking roe. However in the next few weeks the HMR will being going in favour of a new rifle suitable for large lowland reds and the odd Sika..

I would like a rifle/calibre suitable for shooting everything including pigs which I plan to have a pop at in the near future.

I have been reading a bit about the 30-06 Springfield, it appears to tick all the boxes…..has anyone on the forum used the 30-06? And how does it compare to the other popular stalking rounds?

Finally, I notice on Gun Trader a few Winchester Model 70 {Shadow} for sale at very reasonable prices, I’m assuming there very cheap for a reason. Other than a shotgun I owned many years ago I have very little knowledge of Winchester.

Any advice or thought on the calibre and the above mentioned rifle would be well received.

Regards,

CADEX

30-06 will do everything it says on the box.

Hi
    I have a 30-06 Sako Finnlite. I love it especially for Reds, I have shot huge Galloway Stags and also Hill Stags with no problems at all. Overall a very good caliber.

Dalkur

30-06 is a fine 30cal round.

I like winchester 70s, but the Shadow is definately built to a price and that price isn't much! Look for the Extreme Weather, Coyote or even featherweight.