Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: DSC 1 Should there be more content

DSC 1 Should there be more content

First let me say I am new to stalking (1 1/2 years 30 animals) and have just completed my DSC1, which was very worthwhile and enjoyable.
    I do however, having completed the course, wonder if it provides what some might expect or all that a new stalker might need. I understood that the purpose was to equip someone new or with relatively limited experience, all that they need to go out to successfully stalk deer.

According to BDS:- DSC1 provides a comprehensive guide to deer stalking techniques and management. The DSC1 is the foundation of deer skills development.
    It does that by testing:- General Knowledge of the 6 species of deer found in Great Britain and Northern Ireland
    Deer legislation
    Ballistics
    Deer identification
    Safety
    Shooting
    Large Game Trained Hunter knowledge of the inspection of carcasses and the legal requirements

Whilst I accept that all of the examined content, as listed, forms part of the skill set that I need as a new stalker, there appears to me to be a gap between the knowledge imparted and the course objectives, of stalking technique and management. Whilst the course is certainly 'a foundation of deer skills development' there are elements that I might expect in the course that are not taught.

For example.
    1.The elements for making a successful stalk; Wind direction, land assessment, likely locations, equipment list, shooting aid's.
    2. Carcass management; how to undertake a gralloch in order to inspect the carcass, extraction and removal, equipment list, knife selection.
    3. Management, Over shooting, disturbance, cull targets, management plans.

Am I expecting too much, or have I missed something?

Quote Originally Posted by oowee View Post
    First let me say I am new to stalking (1 1/2 years 30 animals) and have just completed my DSC1, which was very worthwhile and enjoyable.