Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Seating depth

Seating depth

This one is probably a question for the more technically minded of you out there.
    I have been reloading for several years, started out reloading pistol ammo, that was before handguns were banned, more recently rifle ammo. I have had some good results and some not so good. Many of the threads on this website and others give testament to the importance of seating depth on accuracy and group size, which I following the perceived wisdom have also found. However I have never come across any information as to why, (some people would say just accept it, but thatís not the way my mind works).
    So my question is why, why does seating depth have such an effect on accuracy and group size?

Quote Originally Posted by DCG View Post
    This one is probably a question for the more technically minded of you out there.
    I have been reloading for several years, started out reloading pistol ammo, that was before handguns were banned, more recently rifle ammo. I have had some good results and some not so good. Many of the threads on this website and others give testament to the importance of seating depth on accuracy and group size, which I following the perceived wisdom have also found. However I have never come across any information as to why, (some people would say just accept it, but that’s not the way my mind works).
    So my question is why, why does seating depth have such an effect on accuracy and group size?
    google is your friend
    http://www.reocities.com/CapitolHill...21/seating.htm

DCG, being a newly afflicted reloader, I read all I could about reloading. There seems to be a weight of opinion that seat depth is really about distance of bullet ogive to the leade. From what I can gather, it varies not just from rifle to rifle but in my case from one type of bullet to another through the same rifle.