Thread: Deben lithium ion batterys

Deben lithium ion batterys

hi folks

anybody have or used these newish super dooper lithium oin batterys form deben??

apparently a third of the wieght etc etc.

i have 2 clulites a 1 million candle power and a 2 million candle power...i think 50 and 100 w

im no electrician i hate the stuff too many zaps from it.

you get different amperage batterys...22amp i think the highest....anybody any idea how long it would power these lamps etc.?

or would lower amperage do ?

cheers
    sauer /paul

I got one 2 years ago. Really light, carry in your pocket stuff, lasts about 2 or more hours on full beam. Pleased with it. Beware when the battery is flat, though, it just goes out immediately, there is no slow fade out like with the heavy old dry cell units, and you are plunged into darkness miles from the car.......

Lithium Ion batteries are excellent, very light indeed. I am pretty sure they will be the norm in a year or two.
    The older ones certainly did run out with no warning, however if you get the latest Deben catalogue (no: 26) you will see they now supply them with a built in gauge telling you the state of the battery.
    All in all a very good piece of kit.

sauer

The lithium ion batteries are excellent if you spend a lot of time lamping on foot. The big 22Ah unit will power a 100w lamp for around 2.5 hours which equates to a 3-4hr session when used intermittently . Our lamping squad carry a battery each (or two 12Ah units) and never notice the weight. An equivalent lead acid battery weighs over a stone!

Carry a spare if you are walking miles from the car or use a 50w bulb to double run times.

By the way to work out roughly how long the baterry will last use the following sum:-

(Ah of battery x Voltage of battery )/ Wattage of the bulb = run time in hours

eg 22(Ah) x 12(V )= 264
    264/100(W ) = 2.64 hours

regards

[QUOTE=scotspine;142701]sauer