Thread: Boiling Skulls, how do you do yours?

Boiling Skulls, how do you do yours?

Hi Guys,

I've boiled off a fair few skulls in my time but I've been having a bit of trouble of late.

I always skin the head, remove the lower jaw and excess meat then boil it in water (no soda) for about 45 minutes. Then power wash the tissue off the skull while holding it in a workbench.

My old power washer packed in lately and the new one I bought doesn't have as good a jet spray setting and is struggeling to blow the sinue off around the eye socket and back of the skull. I've tried boiling for slightly longer but It's not really working any better.

My quiery is regarding the use of soda, as I have never tried it before. Do you still use the power washer after boiling or will it remove the flesh/sinue during the boil? Also how much should I use and how long should I boil for?

Your experiences will be gladly recieved.

Cheers,
    R.H.

Bradley

Re: Boiling Skulls, how do you do yours?

[quote="Robin Hood"
    My quiery is regarding the use of soda, as I have never tried it before. Do you still use the power washer after boiling or will it remove the flesh/sinue during the boil? Also how much should I use and how long should I boil for?[/quote]

Washing soda does seem to make the boiling out process a little easier, and shorter. But then that also depends on what temp you are boiling at. Some guys like a soft rolling boil whilst others prefer a more vigorous aggressive boiling method.

Care should be taken what ever method used in order not to over cook the skull.

I have always just scraped my heads clean never having had to use a power washer.

Quantity of soda would depend upon size of boiling vessel.A large army cauldron large enough to take a red deer head would want about half a handful of soda. But then that depends on the size of your hands.

Hope that helps

swampy

skulls