Thread: whats going worng. .223 loads

whats going worng. .223 loads

Hi guys. Now im sure you all know already this question as been asked on numerous occassions. Im new to reloading around 6 months now, and am trying different loads, ie powder bullet heads etc etc. I have a tikka t3 lite.223 in 1:8 twist and up until last night i was taking out foxes at an average 180 yards, and this was with a light head load, H4198 powder, and 55g speer HP. Changed my powder and bullet head and the results were not very good to say the least, missed everything. Does this happen?.... So, what reliable data "load" do any off you use with info i have given. I will be using H322, which was the powder i loaded with to try out, and 60gr v-max alos used. H335 OR H380 will be used as well, depending on bulled weight, i also use Lapua cases and was using standard rem 7 1/2 primers, going to change to CCI Magnum, is this a wise choice? . Sorry for going on a bit, but really confused why shots went to hell last night, scope wasn't knocked, stored same night after 1st success, oh and i will add this, the rifle got 1 pull through with the boresnake the folowing day. I dont think this would have effected the outcome, i do beleve it was down to the new load, you guys might ahve had a similiar experience. I never got a chance to check this load on paper, naively i thought the load would have been ok as the gun was shooting well with the 55gr.

Now I may be reading thsi wrong but it appears that you have changed the load and not tested it on targets and re-zeroed now I must have missed something .

mayfly

I suggest you go out and buy 3 boxes of factory ammo, then zero your rifle with the factory ammo and carry on pursuing foxes. As to reloading, a key part of load development is testing the load out and testing it again. Treat your quarry with respect and don't pursue it with an untested setup. Secondly, there are many approaches to cleaning rifles, but boresnakes is not one I would endorse.