Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rifle before or after DSC1

Rifle before or after DSC1

As im sure yous will know im new to the Deer scene .Ive myself ready for the step to buy a 308 ( as seen on thread which calibre ) .but am unsure of whether i have to purchase the rifle first or do my DSC1 first .having the DSC1 gives me a reason to own a 308 but dont want to pay for rifle etc do DSC1 to be turned down for FAC for 308..I ready own .22mag along with other shotguns so dont see any problems with owning a 308 but N.I wouldnt have much in the way of land for this calibre off rifle and shooting foxs alone i dont think would a good enough reason.
    Thanks Peter..

Speak to your DSC provider, I borrrowed his rifle to do the test prior to the cert coming through. Shows the weakness in the system though when you can do the test, before you stalk'
    Jim

If you can use an 'Estate Rifle' to do the course then definitly do that and buy your own rifle later if for no other reason than you will get to see and handle what the other candidates are using. Once you've seen what everyone else uses then just go out and buy a Sako anyway because they are the best! JC

Quote Originally Posted by BIGRED View Post
    As im sure yous will know im new to the Deer scene .Ive myself ready for the step to buy a 308 ( as seen on thread which calibre ) .but am unsure of whether i have to purchase the rifle first or do my DSC1 first .having the DSC1 gives me a reason to own a 308 but dont want to pay for rifle etc do DSC1 to be turned down for FAC for 308..I ready own .22mag along with other shotguns so dont see any problems with owning a 308 but N.I wouldnt have much in the way of land for this calibre off rifle and shooting foxs alone i dont think would a good enough reason.
    Thanks Peter..