Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Leave the bucks until after the rut

Leave the bucks until after the rut

I met up with a couple of stalkers at a recent country show. After mentioning that I've got a few good roe buck on my patch, one of them said I should think about leaving them until after the rut.

I've never done this before. What's other stalkers opinions?

Hit them early when the cover is down and before the midges get really active. Well thatís what we do up here.

Thar

Take the crap out, and the beasts going back and try and leave the good uns until the rut has passed! But if your in a forestry patch you may have to adopt the policy of if its brown its down mate to keep the cull targets up!!

atb
    nutty

Bucks

The way I see it is it depends on what pressure you have to reach your cull and the likely hood of some one else taking the good bucks any way. The reason for leaving the good bucks is two fold, it gives them the chance to spread their geans and a large buck will hold a larger teratorie and be less likely to thrash the trees as much as some young upstart. Thats just my take on it. I will be leaving anything that looks a bit special until after the rut.

Dave

Carl Gustaf
    I'm with Devilish on this one, a good territory holding buck is a stalkers best friend! Take out the 'asbo bucks' and retire the golden boy only when he looses out to a better buck. It depends on your situation and size of the deer population on your patch of course.

Will.B
    Quote Originally Posted by nuttyspaniel
    Take the crap out, and the beasts going back and try and leave the good uns until the rut has passed! But if your in a forestry patch you may have to adopt the policy of if its brown its down mate to keep the cull targets up!!

atb
    nutty
    Sound advise. Its always the stalkers consent dilemea. as to what to leave and what to take.

Some of the text book advise is not always practical.