Bonded Bullets

liamnjs

I would appreciate some insight into when to use bonded bullets. As I understand it these prevent break up on impact so penetrate deeply, but I would just like this translated into practical recommendations.

The reason for this is that I was let down a bit at the weekend so went off for two days muntjac stalking in Norfolk with nothing but a small handful of Winchester Super X (turns out that would have been more than sufficient, but that is another story). So I stopped off at Norfolk Sporting Guns (very helpful, highly recommended) and bought the only 6.5x55 ammo they had, Remington Core-Lokt.

Apart from the few I fired to check zero, the rest have come home with me.I can't get these around here, so are they worth saving for any sort of stalking in particular, or should they just be used up as general purpose ammo and replaced with the non-bonded stuff I can get hold of locally?

I'm far from an expert and don't actually shoot a lot of deer but using either my reloaded Hornady spire points, which are standard cup and core bullets, or the Federal factory PowerShok ammo, which I think is a cup and core bullet, I've never recovered a bullet which is to say they all passed right through. Now, I only take broadside heart and lung shots but even so I'm given to think that I don't need anything further from my bullet construction.

In saying that I'm trying to source some Nosler Partition bullets but only because I have the notion to play with them and see how they shoot in my rifle, I certainly don't need them.

With that in mind I'd say you should try and use the bullets that you can get a regular and reliable suppy of locally as I suspect that is more important than the exact construction of the bullet. Continuity of supply is, I think, a major factor for those shooting in the UK.