Thread: Deer numbers in south Ayrshire

Deer numbers in south Ayrshire

Hi
    I have been running a syndicate up south ayrshire for the past 4 years .
    After this hard winter we have just had what do you think the impact on the roe numbers was?
    Are you seeing less roe about, what kids are you seeing, has last winter effected your view on shooting of mature does this season.

just interested in your opinions on this as i believe south Ayrshire was one of the hardest hit.

ATB
    Cam

Quote Originally Posted by camathias View Post
    Hi
    After this hard winter we have just had what do you think the impact on the roe numbers was?
    Are you seeing less roe about, what kids are you seeing, has last winter effected your view on shooting of mature does this season.

just interested in your opinions on this as i believe south Ayrshire was one of the hardest hit.

ATB
    Cam
    hi,

what does your cull figures say so far mate in relation to the last four years

atb f.

Plenty of kids on my SA ground. What I'd expect TBH.

We found quite alot of dead roe kids in March/April, including two pairs of twins lying dead together, so yes, I think our doe cull will be much reduced on our lease this winter.

Quote Originally Posted by centralbeltstalker View Post
    hi,

what does your cull figures say so far mate in relation to the last four years

atb f.
    hi m8

I have not finished the does this year so cull figures are not a factor. As the bad weather was last winter we will not see the out come till the end of the doe season

ATB
    Cam

hi m8

I have not finished the does this year so cull figures are not a factor. As the bad weather was last winter we will not see the out come till the end of the doe season

ATB
    Cam
    hi,

the request was for your cull total to date in comparison for the last four, the cold didn't just affect the doe's. the original post meant to say that and i assume you have misunderstood the DOES in my post.

atb f.

Hi

ATB