.308 bullet weights

TobyH

I was told today that 168gr bullets for my .308 would be too much for shooting deer in the UK, and that 150gr would be enough.

I'm new to stalking (not shooting) so am not sure what to use, Twist rate on my scout is about 1:11, and its only 19" long. Does that make any difference for bullet weights?

OK 168 Grain bulelts are normally of the Match type and used for target sgooting. The 168 grain was the traditional weight of match bullet for the 30-08 and so it switched over to the .308 as well. The hunting bullets of construction designed to espand are usually of 165 grains and NOT 168!

I have personaly used the Speer 165 grain Hot core bullet to shoot Roe and Muntjac and yes it's a good Bullet. Hornady make them of the same weight and they too have a good reputation.

I was told today that 168gr bullets for my .308 would be too much for shooting deer in the UK, and that 150gr would be enough.

I'm new to stalking (not shooting) so am not sure what to use, Twist rate on my scout is about 1:11, and its only 19" long. Does that make any difference for bullet weights?

Something that I have learnt with reloading is that there are 100's of so called experts out there and all of them have different ideas on what you should do.

If you put a search on the net you will find "Experts" recommend every weight and velocity from 125-240grain and 2500-3000fps.

My 2p's worth is use a heavy slow bullet opposed to a fast light one for hunting, I think it will do less damage and have more thump.

Check this link out >>> http://www.6mmbr.com/308Win.html

There is a section on hunting bullets about half way down the page. This site is wealth of information in many calibers.

Last edited:
Brithunter, I was more referring to that sort of size rather than being specific. I have only used 167/168gr and 155gr bullets when target shooting so am not familiar with the soft nose/ballistic tip rounds. But thanks for the info all the same..